Grace, everyone needs a little

One thing bothering me lately is the general lack of grace I hear. People complain about their jobs, their families, their life in general. And it makes me sad. And to be honest, I am a complainer and blamer too. I get annoyed when things don’t go just my way; I always find someone to point the finger at. And that’s not really a good thing.

We all need grace– I need so much grace. Grace is essentially giving something to someone even when they don’t deserve it, but giving good things. Webster says grace is “unmerited diving assistance given humans.” I see grace as offering forgiveness eve when it isn’t Asked, thinking of people and trying to bless them somehow even when they don’t deserve it, and generally looking past all the little things (and many of the big things) all of us do wrong everyday.

I spent a lot of the summer being snappy and grumpy from a stressful situation at work, and I spent a lot of the summer taking out my frustration at my boyfriend. Thank goodness for grace, because he always forgave me the harsh words and helped me see what was really upsetting me. And I’m glad God gives me grace, because I mess up so much– being mean to my boyfriend, complaining about work, little white lies… the list is a long one. I’ve learned to give myself some grace too; I am not perfect and sometimes I don’t get everything right, but that’s okay. God still loves me; my family and friends still love me. Life is still okay.

And I need to give grace. I need to give grace to my boyfriend when he does something annoying (and it’s not just me being grumpy!) I need to give grace to the school that is working hard to get all the financial aid sorted out before this semester. I need to give grace to the friend who hurt my feelings and to the boss who has too much on her plate too and to the driver who just cut me off, because I really don’t know what’s going on in his world, but I am sure he needs some grace.

Funnily enough, the more I give grace, the more peace I feel. I don’t get so annoyed at work, I don’t want to get revenge when I’m hurt, I don’t drag everyone else down when I am disappointed. And life is just better with more grace going around.

Where do you need more grace? and where can you give it?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

